Macallan 12yo ‘Elegancia’

Macallan Elegancia

Distillery: Macallan

Expression: Elegancia

Age Statement: 12 years old

Vol: 40,0%

 

This Elegancia expression by Macallan was one of the first bottles in my collection when I started my whisky madness years ago. It was a gift from a friend who actually infected me with the whisky bug. This was the first bottle of Macallan in my possession. I remember the first time I tried it I didn’t like it that much, but it grew on me over time. It’s been a very long time since I’ve tasted it since, so I’m curious how I like it now that I’ve progressed much in my whisky journey. Note: This particular Elegancia (2004) is the last of the bottling series before Macallan discontinued it and started with the Fine Oak series. Olorose and Fino sherry casks were used in the maturation of this whisky.

Nose: Sawdust, quite some sharp oak. Peppery. Very fruity after that, with a blend of tropical and garden fruits, making it quite refreshing. Some spice and a bit of a salty note. Caramel, chocolate, orange zest and malt.

Taste: A lot of spice. Pepper, liquorice, bitter oak. Light sherry notes. Citrus fruits, mostly orange and lemon peel. Metallic mouthfeel, really sticks and leaves bitterness.

Finish: Still quite bitter. Some fruit, malt and caramel sweetness in the background. Not very long.

Overall: I remember this better than I like it now. The bitterness is off-putting and doesn’t get balanced out by anything else. It tasted somewhat diluted. A bit underwhelming, so-so. Not one I’ll remember for a long time I’m afraid.

3 stars (76-80 range)

Leave a Reply

